Riverside Elementary Students Place on Honor Roll in Nationwide Math Contest

Three Riverside Elementary 4th Graders earned a spot on the Honor Roll in the nationwide Noetic Learning Math Contest (NMLC). The NLMC is a semiannual problem solving contest for elementary and middle school students.

The goal of the competition is to encourage students’ interest in math, to develop their problem solving skills, and to inspire them to excel in math.  Riverside students practiced doing math problems every week starting in February until the April contest.

During the contest, students are given 45 minutes to solve 20 problems. Many problems are designed to challenge students and to enrich their problem solving experiences.

“The students very much enjoyed the challenge,” said Lisa Van Boxtel, 4th grade teacher at Riverside.  “They used several problem-solving strategies to answer the variety of problems.  Being a part of the program definitely helped increase their confidence.”

The students embraced the challenge of the contest and noticed a difference in their learning.   “At first it was really hard for me,” said 4th grader Abby Ward.   “But then it got easier for me and it helped me with my math outside of Noetic Math.”

Classmate Ryen Probasco added, “The contest actually pushed my brain a little bit. I liked the practice questions because it helped me get ready for the test.”

“Noetic Math helped me with my math skills and it helped me improve in my story problems in the classroom,” said 4th grader Tanish Dharme.

The contest is nationwide with 33,669 students participating overall.  Riverside had 3 fourth grade students make the Honor Roll, which means they were in the top 7% of all fourth graders that participated in the contest.  21 Riverside students made Honorable Mention,  the top 50% of all fourth graders.

Congratulations to the following Riverside Elementary 4th Graders:

Honor Roll:  Alex Grant , Gavin Loucks and Natalie Yeung

Honorable Mention:  Abigail Ward, Anderson Stehli, Eli Karpinski, Finn Taylor, Gavin Close, Grant Barron, Jackson Jeserig, Joshua Mims, Kaylee Harder, Keerthana Allu, Lacey Fischer, Mahi Agrawal, Nicholas Uhing, Nishanth Suthan, Noah Velie, Parker Zimmerman, Sahishnu Vadheraju, Scott Casper, Shambhavi Ganesh, Sydney Redding and Tanish Dharme.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s