93 students inducted into NHS

MENOMONEE FALLS (5/13/16) — The Menomonee Falls High School Auditorium was jam packed Thursday evening, but not for a play or musical or even a choral performance. These parents, friends and well wishers were there to celebrate students making a difference. They were there for the National Honor Society.

“Being inducted into NHS is both an honor and a commitment,” said Jill Hughes, adviser for the MFHS NHS. “Students in NHS are chosen not only for their academic success but for their leadership, character and service to our community.”

Those are the tenets of NHS: scholarship, leadership, service, and character. During the ceremony, the students listened to Kyle Mandry, a parent in the district as well as a vice president at Visa, an Olympic torch bearer and a cancer survivor.

Being a member of NHS not only recognizes students for their accomplishments, but challenges them to develop further through active involvement in school activities and community service.

“Being inducted into National Honor Society is very special to me because I now know that the enormous amount of effort I put into my academics has not gone unnoticed,” said Alyssa Benning, MFHS junior. “With the invitation into this organization I’ve realized that I have made an impact on the individuals who have made me who I am today and that makes all the stress, exhaustion, and other hardships completely worth it.”

MFHS NHS yearly service projects include volunteering at Falls Fest with the children’s games, helping with high school registration, hosting a “Sock Drive” for a homeless shelter, running a food drive for the Menomonee Falls Food Pantry, hosting two Red Outs for the American Heart Association and co-hosting Relay for Life for the American Heart Association.

Listed are the students inducted at Thursday’s ceremony:

Bhakti Anbarasan, Matthew Henningsen, Emily Poffinbarger, Kristina Barczak, Elizabeth Hollenberger, Najhee Purdy, Elena Beck, Marissa Igunbor, Haley Richards, Rayna Becker, Bennett Jaskaniec, Ethan Richmond, Alyssa Benning, Amber Jaworski, Andrew Roberts, Lilly Bittner, Ciera Jones, Mackenzie Robertson, Nathan Bosch, Matthew Jordan, Logan Roble, Noah Bougie, Samuel Kachelek, Joy Russ, Darby Browne, Parmeet Kaur, Brandon Schaefer, Autumn Claas, Robert Kearney, Georgia Schefelker, Collin Dedrick, Thomas Kirchberger, Charles Schild, Mitchell DeLonay, David Koier, Allison Schultz, Andrew DeLuka, Amanda Kolsch, Nikolas Schumacher, Christina Dillon, Maya Kreiter, Jordan Schuman, Erin Dowling, Amandeep Lehal, Madelyn Schwabe, Elizabeth Dowling, Jordan Lemieux, Margaret Shea, Andrew Dryer, Katelyn Macholl, Karissa Smaglick, Joshua Ebner, Lauren Maier, Caleb Smith, Valerie Her, Alyssa Marks, Kylie Sprecher, Gabrielle Feltman, Signe Mattson, Kevin Staron, Miranda Fluegge, Joshua McMahon, Lauren Topp, Dana Franzowiak, McKenna Micech, Tanner Trombley, Nicholas Fritsch, Kenady Minley, Erin Vastag, Devin Gagnon, Colton Mir, Kristina Viegut, Victoria Grooters, Winnie Moy, Samantha Visintainer, Justin Gruber, Kaitlyn Nagel, Karly Volz, Danielle Gruenewald, YiXuan (Ruby) Niu, Grace Walton, Madison Grzesiak, Ebunoluwa Olapo, Jasmine Washington, Alyssa Haldemann, Alexandria Paris, Jack Weaver, Michael Handler, Allie Paulson, Jennifer Wesolowski, Cailey Heiser, Abigail Perez and Eric Wunsch



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s